Harvard Business Review (hbr) App Reviews

By Harvard Business Review

star star_border star_border star_border star_border 1.3 / 5
Harvard Business Review (hbr) app review

Harvard Business Review (hbr) App Info

  • 371 Ratings
  • Price: Free
  • Category: Business
  • Updated: Nov 23 2018
  • Version: 8.1
  • Size: 42.07 MB
  • Seller: Harvard Business Review
  • © Harvard Business Review

Harvard Business Review (hbr) App Screenshots

Customer Reviews of the Harvard Business Review (hbr) App

So Disappointing

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

natespees's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 9/4/18 3:30 AM

HBR is one of the most reputable and strongest brands in business. As a 5 year subscriber I’ve seen many iterations of this app and this one is by far the worst. The HBR app has been progressively worse, which is disappointing since they’ve got such strong content. The lack of interactivity, and poor UX make this app worse than reading a PDF.

Bad quality

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

bandarr2's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 9/28/18 10:29 PM

The quality of the magazine text is bad, need improvement to make reading experience better.

Content good. App is weird and confusing.

star star star_border star_border star_border

bpd-newguid's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 9/18/18 1:34 PM

The HBR content is as great as ever. But MAN OH MAN! the app is confusing. Whoever dreamt up the user interface for browsing your issues and available content should be forced to read all the negative feedback that’s been written about this app. Seriously. That user interface is *BAD*. I know, it looks kinda cool but it’s non-functional and nuts. Don’t try to re-invent the wheel with your user interface. To the app design team, I see that you’re trying to do something cool but it’s just not working.

Absolutely fine

star star star star_border star_border

Asteere's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 8/4/18 6:57 AM

Look, this app is just fine. Pro tip: read the “how to use the HBR app” article amongst all the magazines FIRST, learn the finger swipe shortcuts and navigation is fine. Not intuitive until you do that, then extremely simple. I live in Kenya, can’t easily access reliable mailed hard copies, so the app subscription works well for me. No bells and whistles, no ability to highlight or bookmark - but I can read wherever I want. Full disclosure: I also read The Week & Entertainment Weekly on the ipad, and this is comparable once you know the shortcuts.

Is this really the HBR app?

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

DFinAlex's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 8/4/18 11:31 PM

How can this be? Jr High School newsletters have better on-line experiences. Is there another HBR app that we’re all missing? This is a disaster...

Wow... Harvard

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Haliebyrd's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 7/4/18 2:54 AM

I guess Harvard isn’t known for their app development. I am so irritated with this app. Also, I did my subscription, and they charged me 3 times... so $300. Their tech support can’t seem to disassociate another email from mine. What a nightmare. I am ready to cancel it all. Based on the other reviews, it’s clear that they don’t listen to feedback.

Subscription not active

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Vanar66's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 5/2/18 12:49 AM

Just bought subscription for print and digital. I can access website but not the app version. After entering subscription account number, email and zip code in setting under app right bottom corner, it responds that not active subscription. I called help desk , waited for 10 min, and they said you only get online version on website but not the app version. Then she corrected herself that manager says I should be also access app version. Now she put a request to IT and someone will contact me up to 5 BUSINESS DAYS by email . This is all after spending$189 for 2 year subscription. I think HBR should do a case study on HBR customer experience..do to yourself before teaching others...

Should be 0 stars

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

User 93476's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 5/17/18 5:23 PM

This is so bad. Amateur app designed by academics, I think. Kind of like much of the advice in the content.

UI Options

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Consulting Critic's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 3/21/18 3:03 PM

In ADDITION TO the other 1-star commentary, I find the lack of offering options to change/increase text size to be a Technical Foul, ejection from the stadium, and even grounds for suspension. Adjusting fonts, text size, backgrounds, and any other visual settings to me are THEE MAIN FEATURES digital reading! .... duh. What a contradiction this app presents to the very content provided within the pages of the magazine. Unless this is a dubious scheme to get free user-centric advice on how to design the next app version, it is just deliberate irresponsibility and disregard for PAYING CUSTOMERS. I understand the fear-based POV to protect content and strict adherence to proprietary/copyrighted material, but this is HBR... FIGURE IT OUT and MAKE IT HAPPEN.

Horrible- not user friendly

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

GregNHPT's Review of Harvard Business Review (hbr)

Reviewed on 3/17/18 9:41 PM

Swiping through stack is not the best way to find things. List format of titles would be very useful. Still can’t figure out how to return magazine to free space up on my iPad. Badge indicator is on, no clue how to figure out why? Please update this app so subscribers can enjoy content digitally